When I decided that I wanted to have a child, yes, it was a decision, I had thought long and hard about how that child would be taken care of and had no doubts that I would be provided the best prenatal and delivery care possible. I didn’t worry that my baby or I might die from totally preventable diseases or hygiene problems. That was possible, because I live in the United States and have insurance.
I am lucky.
There are millions of women and children who are not so lucky. According to the United Nations
• Each day an estimated 800 mothers and 18,000 young children die from largely preventable causes.
• More than 1 million babies die on their first and only day of life across the world, and 2.9 million in their first month.

• 40 million women give birth without any skilled help – that’s more than 100,000 women every day. Even more dramatically, 2 million women a year are entirely alone when giving birth.
Save the Children and their partners are working hard over the next 500 days (they are currently on day 458) on eradicating these problems, because they are preventable problems. The United Nations Millennium Development Goals 4 is to reduce the number of child deaths by 2/3rds by 2015. They have made great strides in this area, but there is a real push for these next 450+ days.
You can help just by raising attention to the problem. Tweet, post something on Facebook, blog, talk about it. Spread the word. HASHTAGS: #MDGmomentum #commit2deliver

Mothers and their children at a health post in Hawassa, Ethiopia, from Mom Bloggers for Social Good

Mothers and their children at a health post in Hawassa, Ethiopia, from Mom Bloggers for Social Good

Check out their website for yourself: http://www.savethechildren.net/mdg500/

