Before I got pregnant, if it was flipflop season, I had my toes done. Mind you, I have never had a pedicure, but I would generally keep my toenails painted. There were a couple of reasons for this. I hate wearing shoes in the summer, so my toes are always visible. And, I have weird toes, so I was trying to draw attention away by making them look pretty. My sister says I have a french fry toe, and honestly, it does look like a short crinkle cut fry. Needless to say, anything I can do to distract from it (aside from shoes), I do. Or did. Now, I just don’t have the time or energy to bother.
We just started going to a mommy and me type class though, and it requires us to take off our shoes. I am pretty averse to wearing socks, just like shoes (what can I say? I grew up in the South, it’s hot, and it feels better barefoot). I am feeling like I need to make a little more effort on the nail front.
Occasionally, I will get a wild hair and think I should do my fingernails. My husband got me a spa day for mother’s day last year. It included my first facial and manicure. The pampering was great, but literally before I left the nail area, I’d already ruined my manicure. This happens every time I try to do my fingernails.
Case in point, tonight I was feeling pretty good and thought I’d open my new mint colored polish. Did my left hand, no problem. Started the right hand and somehow the polish had turned a little sticky/gloppy. This is a brand new bottle. I waited patiently for my right hand to dry, but the gloppy polish didn’t dry right. It was still OK. Nothing ruined.
I started to adjust my pillows, and of course, ruined it. At least it’s only two fingers and not the whole hand. I figure it will maybe last the day tomorrow anyway, since there will be a day full of toddler wrangling, dishes and laundry.
Why even bother? Well, if I don’t, who will?

